Thai olive fried rice

Posted: February 8, 2009 by nietize in Rice, Thai
Tags: ,

Ingredients

1 shallot, finely diced
1 chili padi, finely diced
1 garlic clove, finely diced
10-15 black olives, finely diced
1 chicken fillet, chopped (seasoned with salt and cornflour)
Prawns
Fish cake (crab stick)
Cooked rice

Fry shallots, chilli and garlic.
Add half of the olives and fry. Add chicken. Add salt. Fry until the chicken is cooked on the outside.
Add the prawns.
Add the rice and mix well.
Add the remaining olives.
Season with salt, sugar and fish sauce.
Mix well and serve with fried shrimps, lime, chili and cashew nuts
.

I cooked this for dinner under the watchful guidance of my mom. (My mistake today was forgetting that I was cooking with a wok rather than a non-stick pan. Part of the rice was burnt and stuck to the bottom of the pan.) This is one of the dishes my mom always cooks for me when I come home from the UK. I think I should be able to cook this back in London although I may have some problems getting fish cake in London. I may substitute it with crab sticks..

Leave a Reply

