Curry baked rice

Posted: March 28, 2009 by nietize in Chicken, My own creation, Rice
Tags: , ,

p3280002

Ingredients

1 onion
1 celery stick
1 chicken fillet, diced
2 tbsp of curry powder
1 cup of peas
Cheddar cheese
1 bowl of cooked rice

Fry onions and celery. Add in diced chicken seasoned with salt and curry powder and fry till the chicken is browned on both sides. Add 1 tbsp of water and the peas.

Place rice in a casserole dish, pour the chicken mixture on top and cover with lots and lots of cheddar cheese. Bake till the cheese is golden brown.

I think Singaporeans first knew about baked rice when Swensons introduced it to their menu a couple of years ago. I am not too sure whether I first tasted it at Swensons or whether I tried it at home. My mom apparently loved it so much, she started making it at home on a regular basis. I think she developed the recipe on her own. I am not too sure. Anyway, I have modified her recipe by adding curry powder to it. Cheese goes really well with curry.

Leave a Reply

