Seared Scallops on Herbed Couscous Salad

Posted: July 28, 2009 by lainey in My own creation, Salad, Seafood

Why couscous? I’m tired of rice and I’m tired of pasta, so I’ve decided to move to couscous.

Why scallops? I’ve a cute little fish shop in my new neighborhood owned by an old and kindly Jewish man who talks about his fish and seafood with so much love and pride that I want to visit his shop everyday just to have a chat with him! So I bought scallops from him because I watched some scallops being cooked on TV last night.

DSC_0101

Herbed couscous salad
Ingredients:
-1/2 cup of uncooked couscous
-1/2 cup of boiling water
-extra virgin olive oil
– a handful of parsley leaves, finely chopped.
– 1 tablespoon of lemon juice
– red pepper flakes
-10 cherry tomatoes, halfed
– 2 handfuls of walnuts, toasted
– 1 tsp of lemon zest, finely grated
– 1/2 tsp of garlic powder
– sea salt and ground pepper to taste

Method:
1. Put uncooked couscous in bowl, drizzle with olive oil and rub it into the grains. Pour 1 cup of boiling water into the bowl and cover for 10 minutes or until all water is absorbed. Fluff with a fork to remove lumps. Set aside to cool.

2. Add lemon juice, 2 tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil, red pepper flakes, garlic powder and lemon zest into a bowl and mix well. Add to couscous and toss to coat.

3. Fold in walnuts and then cherry tomatoes.

4. Chill in refrigerator for 1 hour for the flavours to emerge.

DSC_0105

Seared Scallops
Ingredients:
– 10 fresh scallops (washed and patted dry with paper towel)
– sea salt

Method:
1. Heat frying pan till very hot.
2. Put some grapeseed oil and heat till hot (I used grapeseed because it has a high boiling point and it’s healthy, but I guess butter or regular vegetable oil will work too.)
3. Season the scallops with sea salt.
4. Place scallops into frying pan. Each side should be seared for about 30 seconds or until a golden brown crust is formed.
5. Serve with chilled couscous salad.

n.b: my scallops are not seared well enough. I was a little scared. It should be more golden brown than the picture.

I’m so proud of this dish, and my own invention!
Jeff’s rating: 9/10!

Leave a Reply

