Southern Fried Chicken

Posted: August 17, 2009 by lainey in Chicken

DSC_0140

I kinda read an entire bunch of recipes on allrecipes.com and improvised with what I have to get the above.

Ingredients
– Chicken, in parts
– butter milk
– italian spices
– paprika
-salt
-pepper
-fresh parsley, chopped
-flour (u can add salt, pepper and some spices, i used the pre-seasoned chicken flour my mother-in-law gave me)
-grapeseed oil

Method:
1) mix the buttermilk with all the spices in a huge bowl or a huge freezer bag
2) put the chicken and make sure the mixture covers all the chicken.
3) Cover and leave in refrigerator for a day.
4) Heat up grapeseed oil. The recipes say 375 degrees, but my mother says “until you see bubbles when you put a chopstick in”. Make sure to keep the oil hot, but not too hot (work the dials)
5) Put in the chicken to fry, approximately 12 – 15 minutes on each side or until golden brown
6) Put on wire rack to drain.
7) Serve.

Frankly? Fried chicken is too much work, makes me feel hot and greasy and thus not so satisfying. I think I would rather walk out and buy some popeye’s or KFC. It’s cheaper that way too. :p

I can see mothers all around the world shaking their heads at me…

Leave a Reply

