Chilled cucumber soup

Posted: August 22, 2009 by nietize in Soup, Vegetarian

DSCN1441


Taken from Gordon Ramsay – Cooking for Friends

Ingredients (serves 4)

3 long cucumbers, about 650g each, straight from the refrigerator
lemon juice to taste
1 tbsp olive oil
handful of dill, leaves roughly chopped, plus few fronds to garnish
500ml natural yoghurt
1-2 tbsp horseradish cream, or to taste.

Peel the cucumbers and cut 2 lengthways into quarters. Slice off the seedy core from each quarter, then chop into dice. Put into a large bowl and set aside.

Peel the remaining cucumber into long thin ribbons using a swivel vegetable peeler. Place in another bowl and toss with a little lemon juice, the olive oil, chopped dill, and salt and pepper. Cover with cling film and chill until ready to serve.

Put half the yoghurt, a pinch of salt and pepper and half the chopped cucumber into a blender. Whiz to a smooth puree. Press the puree through a fine sieve, pushing down hard with the back of a ladle. Discard the cucumber pulp in the sieve. repeat the process with the remaining chopped cucumber and yoghurt. taste and adjust the seasoning of the cucumber puree, adding 1 or 2 tbsp of horseradish cream or a squeeze of lemon juice as desired. Cover with cling film and chill if not serving immediately.

To serve, pour the cold soup into chilled bowls and garnish with the dressed cucumber ribbons and dill fronds.

Ok as you can see from the recipe as well as the picture, I have omitted a key step, the cucumber ribbons. I guess since I am cooking it just for myself, I didn’t want to go through the hassle of all that. If I were cooking for friends, I would probably do it (but it would also depend on which friend :D).

I am into chilled soups these days, not least because it’s so bloody warm in London these days and chilled soups are so refreshing. I don’t think chilled soups are popular in Singapore, it just seems alien to Singaporeans but I have loved it since I tried my first spoonful of Gazpacho. I am going to try making that soon!

On discussing the taste of this soup with lainey, I finally realised what this soup tasted like: Raita (cucumber yoghurt dip)!

Comments
  1. vampiregran says:

    Hi, I have been surfing WordPress blogs for cucumber recipes. This one looks and sounds mighty tasty and super easy! I have a garden crazy full of cukes and I need to do something with them. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

  2. nietize says:

    No problem, tell me how it turned out!

Leave a Reply

