First pizza attempt: Chicken and Broccoli Pizza

Posted: August 26, 2009 by lainey in Chicken, Italian, My own creation

IMG_0056

I wanted to make pizza because the pizzas in the US taste “too much” for Jeff and I. Too salty, too sweet, too unhealthy and the one at veggie planet tastes too bland. :p Also, another thing I inherited from friends before they returned to Singapore are bags of flour, wholemeal flour and white flour. And I wanted to get rid of the flour but not make cakes because….cakes are not so healthy. So I got the idea to make my own pizza and I’m glad it worked and it tasted good, though the crust could be a little more crisp (according to J) so I think I will extend the cooking time a lil more. The toppings on the pizza are really what I have in the refrigerator…

Ingredients
1. Pizza dough (I used Smitten Kitchen’s recipe but replaced half the flour with wholemeal flour, it tastes so good wholemeal!)
2. 1/2 cup steamed broccoli
3. 2 thinly sliced tomatoes on vine
4. 1 teaspoon of garlic powder
5. 1 cup of shredded cheese (I used Mexican cheese mix)
6. 3 tablespoons of tomato puree
7. 1 teaspoon of chilli flakes
8. 1/2 teaspoon of dried oregano
9. 1 cup of shredded grilled chicken breast (basically it’s leftover of a rotisserie chicken we had a few nights ago)
10. salt and pepper to taste

Method
Please preheat oven at 450 degrees Fahrenheit

1. roll out the pizza dough on a pizza tray (I used my oven-proof frying pan instead, heh)
2. spread the tomato puree on it pizza base
3. sprinkle garlic powder and salt to taste
4. arrange the tomato slices around
5. spread half the cheese on the tomatoes
6. spread the chicken liberally next
7. add the remainder cheese
8. sprinkle chilli flakes, oregano and salt and pepper to taste. Drizzle good extra virgin olive oil over the pizza.
9. Put in oven and bake for 15 minutes or till sides of crust are brown and crispy (I did 11 minutes and the crust wasn’t too crispy)

We love the pizza! Wholemeal dough tastes great, it’s tasty enough but feels so healthy at the same time. I’m going to buy my own pizza tray and make a pizza every week!

Leave a Reply

