Fish filets poached in white wine with brown butter sauce

Posted: August 28, 2009 by lainey in French

IMG_0060

My first attempt of cooking a recipe from Julia Child’s Mastering the art of French cooking. Apparently, it is not as easy as it seems. The word “Mastering” isn’t there for nothing. I decided to cook fish because it looked like the least complicated thing to do but I think I overcooked the fish. Either that or Halibut is expensive and not nice (shoulda stuck to sole or trout as suggested by Julia). I used Chardonnay and it’s pretty good although she suggested vermouth which I can’t find at Trader Joe’s. The recipe is taken from p 208 of the book. I don’t think I will try the recipe again with Halibut, maybe with another fish. The kitchen did smell GREAT while the fish was cooking though.

I also can’t seem to get my butter sauce to brown (constantly fearing that it will be burn). Jeff liked the sauce enough but who doesn’t like butter. The brown butter sauce recipe is taken from p.99 of the book. I will definitely be trying it again. It’s really just butter and some lemon juice. I guess what’s missing is technique. :p

Comments
  1. nietize says:

    Er where’s the recipe? I feel like trying it!

Leave a Reply

