Mastering the art of French Cooking (inspired by the movie)

Posted: August 28, 2009 by lainey in French

IMG_0063

So like millions of other girls, I went to buy Julia Child’s Master the art of french cooking after watching Julia and Julie in the theater. I think I’ve always been intrigued by French cooking – intrigued by the desserts but I really don’t see the big deal about the rest of the cuisine. I suspect it’s because I never had really good French food besides the occasional duck confit and steak and frites. I really can’t figure out what the distinguishable factor in French cooking is. In fact, I hardly ever decide to go to a French restaurant/bistro to eat. Why? I’m poor and cheap? But French desserts, on the other hand, is something I love to indulge it. I like their simplicity, yet fragility.

So in part to learn to cook better, in part because I’m so inspired by the lovely movie and also in part to understand what French food, cooking is all about, I bought the book.

I don’t think I will do a Julie Powell and cook from this book that often or all her recipes because:
1) I don’t have the money.
2) Some of the recipes really seem TOO HARD.
3) I will definitely grow too fat if I eat so much butter.

So I think I will try something once a week.

Comments
  1. Yasmin says:

    Haha, the French and their butter. Wow, the best Marvin and I did today was black cuban beans with cumin and pepper. hahha! Keep cooking!

Leave a Reply

