Trout with mushrooms (and mussels) (Trota Con Funghi E Cozze)

Posted: December 20, 2009 by nietize in Italian, Trout
Tags: ,

Taken from The Silver Spoon

Ingredients

25g butter, plus extra for greasing
25g dried mushrooms
4 small trout, cleaned
1 tbsp chopped fresh thyme
olive oil for brushing
1/2 onion, chopped
1 carrot chopped
1 celery stick, chopped
350ml dry white wine
12 mussels, cooked and shelled
salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees. Grease an ovenproof dish with butter. Put the mushrooms in a bowl, add warm water to cover and leave to soak. Season the cavities of the trout with salt and pepper and sprinkle with the thyme. Brush the fish with olive oil, place in the prepared dish and add the onion, carrots and celery. Dot with the butter, cover with foil and bake for 10 minutes. Drain and squeeze out the mushrooms. Remove the foil from the dish, add the wine and mushrooms and bake for a further 10 minutes. Add the mussels and bake for a few more minutes to heat through, then serve.

It’s been some time since I last posted a recipe. It’s not that I haven’t been cooking, I still cook every weekend, it’s just that, my camera is rubbish (my other camera died when I was in Amsterdam) and it’s winter and so the lack of lighting is making my pictures look horrible.

Anyway, I have a new cookbook: The Silver Spoon. It’s supposed to be Italy’s best selling cookbook for over 50 years and the bible of authentic Italian cooking.

I have cooked two other recipes from it: Chicken in Lager and Pork with Tuscan Cabbage but as I said, pictures were horrible and so I chose not to post them. It just means I have to cook them again!

Anyway for this trout dish, as you can see from the picture I have made quite a number of modifications to it. First of all, I couldn’t get the whole trout and so I substituted it with trout fillets. I also didn’t add any mussels because my stomach is feeling a bit uncomfortable these days and I didn’t want to risk it with dodgy mussels. Also I had loads of french beans left (Marks and Spencer was having a discount on them) and so I chopped them up and added them to the mix. For the dried mushrooms, I used dried porcini mushrooms.

It’s quite rare (at least from my experience) to mix mushrooms with trout but I was quite delighted to find that it worked, especially after the mushrooms have been roasted in the oven, the combination of the natural flavours of the fish and the richness of the roasted mushrooms – heavenly. Not too sure what the mussels would add to it, I will try it when my stomach is feeling less upset with me.

Comments

Leave a Reply

