Chinese Roast Pork

Posted: January 10, 2010 by lainey in Chinese, Pork

Pork belly was on sale at the supermarket and since Peru, I’ve been craving for roast pork. The roast pork sold here ain’t that great and is highly overpriced. So I tried making some on my own. It’s delicious. I used the recipe here. We had intended to have it for dinner tomorrow but we got hungry and impatient. So I took out my hairdryer to dry the pork skin (inspired by Ming Tsai’s stint on Iron Chef and his treatment of the Peking Duck) and put the thin slab of meat in the oven. Halfway through, because it’s not a huge slab, it fell over (that explains the charred bit) so I took two oven-proof bowls to prop it up to continue broiling the skin till it crackles beautifully.Also, I didn’t put the fermented tofu and I used garlic powder instead. The pork is already very tasty!

This is a wonderful dish, really easy to make and extremely cheap to make on our own. I will definitely try it again, maybe with a big slab so we can keep in the refrigerator to use slowly!

And this is also the first time J gave my dish a 10/10. WOW.

Comments
  1. Janice says:

    Lainey! I made this today! totally yummers!!! ZOING!!!! :p

Leave a Reply

