No Knead Baguette

Posted: February 4, 2010 by lainey in Bread, Breakfast

lI love steamy kitchen’s bread recipes. Firstly, she gets her super cute 4 yr son to help out. That’s always reasurring for a newbie baker like me – if he can do it, so can I! So I tried her no knead baguette recipe which she took from Jim Lahey’s book. There’s something about baking bread. Having to plan a day in advance, the mess, the rising of the dough, staring at the monstrous bubbles, the smell the apartment fills with when the bread is baking….it’s such a magical- domestic- goddess-y process.

So I woke  up at 6 (yea I wake up at 6 for bread but not anything else) on a Sunday morning to bake bread for a special breakfast for the husband. It was lovely, I had time to do yoga during the second rise, and spend some good “me” time that’s not sleeping or working.

I will definitely make this bread again, lots of improvements to make it perfect but just for today, our four baguettes will make us satisfied.

Oh, and I think I need to go buy Jim Lahey’s bread book.

Leave a Reply

