Cauliflower Soup

Posted: March 4, 2010 by lainey in Soup, Vegetarian

I bought a head of cauliflower to live it up a little. Please note that I never liked cauliflowers. But I wanted to “expand” my palette. I was feeling like a fuddy-duddy given that I always buy the same kind of vegetables. Actually, given how frequent I cook, it’s really hard to vary things up. So anyway, I bought a head of cauliflower and was really looking forward roasting it with some herbs and spices. However, I also have milk from last week’s egg tarts that I didn’t want to throw away. And I don’t drink milk. And I’ve kinda turned J into a non-milk drinker too. So I found a recipe on Kayotic Kitchen for Cauliflower Soup that calls for lots of milk. Yay.

Ingredients:

2 cups chicken broth
medium cauliflower -divided into florets
medium carrot -chopped
2 garlic cloves – minced
1 large onion -chopped
1/2 cup corn
1.5 cup milk
1 tsp salt
nutmeg
pepper
chives

1. Sautee  onions in a little bit of oil until translucent.

2. Add carrots and cook for a minute, then add corn and garlic and stir for a few minutes

3. Add cauliflower. Add pinch of nutmeg and pepper.

4. Add milk and chicken broth. Stir, bring to boil.

5. Simmer for 20 – 25 minutes, or until vegetables are soft.

Simmer simmer

7. Blend with hand blender.

My Kitchenaid hand blender - one of the best kitchen tools I've gotten. Making soup is a snap now!

8. Serve with some grated cheese on top and parsley.

The soup tastes strangely better the next day. On first taste, I found it too milky for me, but really enjoyed it for the dinner the next day. J loves it and gives it 8/10.

I still have milk left, guess I will have throw that out.

Leave a Reply

