Spinach Whole Wheat Pizza

Posted: March 21, 2010 by lainey in My own creation, Vegetarian

Pizza before putting into the oven.

On Saturday, we made a trip to Russo’s and I bought a lovely bag of spinach. However, it was HUGE and I started thinking of ways to get rid of it. Spinach pizza came to mind since my whole wheat flour is still in abundance. Once again, I used Smitten Kitchen’s really simple homemade pizza crust. Then I just coated the pizza crust with olive oil before adding grated cheese, garlic powder, oregano and a bunch of spinach and some sliced mushrooms. Then, drizzle with some extra virgin olive oil before putting in oven to bake at 475 degrees for 15 minutes. Viola!

cooked pizza

See how much the spinach cooked down. I now know to trust my instincts more than my fears, because I did not put in all the spinach I intended to because I was scared it would weigh down too much on the crust.

The pizza was delicious and healthy. I can’t get enough of the whole wheat crust.

Leave a Reply

