Lamb Shank with Marsala Wine

Posted: September 27, 2010 by lainey in Lamb

Lamb shank served with brown rice and brocollini stir fried with garlic

Garlicky Marsala Shanks (Adapted from BigOven)

2 lamb shanks, about a pound or so
Seasalt and freshly grounded black pepper
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
10 cloves of garlic, peeled, bruised and leave as it is
1/2 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup cooking Marsala Wine
1 tbsp tomato paste
1/2 tsp dried rosemary + 1 small bay leaf
1 tbsp unsalted butter
1 to 2 tsp good quality balsamic vinegar

Trim excess fat (if any) from the shanks and give it a good shake of salt and pepper. Rub well to coat and brown them with the olive oil until they are evenly brown on all sides.

Add in the bruised garlic and continue cooking until light brown. Be careful not to burn it.

Combine in a jug the chicken broth, Marsala, dried rosemary, dried bay leaf and the tomato paste. Stir to dissolve the tomaoto paste. Add into the shanks and bring to boil.

Lower heat to simmering point and cover on with heavy glass lid. Simmer it for an hour or more until meat almost falls off bone. Add in some chicken broth and wine if necessary if liquid is evaporating too quickly.

Remove shanks, set aside to keep warm. Turn on heat to high and boil for 5mins to thicken the gravy. When gravy appears thicker, whisk in the butter and balsamic vinegar.

Pour the sauce over the shanks and serve immediately.

I bought a bottle of marsala wine some time ago to make Tiramisu but I never got down to making it. So I’m determined to finish the bottle instead of buying any other wine. So when I got a lamb shank from the CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) that I was part of (I’ve since gotten 2 more lamb shanks), I trawled the internet for a recipe that uses Marsala wine.

This recipe is delicious and I loved the garlicky taste. I did not add in the butter to finish the sauce because I wanted to make it healthier, which explained why my sauce looked thinner. Also, upon re-reading the recipe, I realised I forgot to add in the balsamic vinegar. Well, maybe that would have made the recipe even better. I will try again next time round.

Leave a Reply

