Chicken in creamed horseradish

Posted: October 21, 2011 by nietize in Chicken
Tags: ,

From Chicken – the best ever recipe collection
Serves 4
Ingredients

2 tbsp olive oil
4 chicken portions
2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp plain flour
2 cups chicken stock
2 tbsp creamed horseradish sauce
1 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
salt and freshly ground black pepper

Heat the oil in a large flameproof casserole and gently brown the chicken portions on both sides over a medium heat. Remove the chicken from the casserole and keep warm.

Wipe out the casserole, then add the butter and allow to melt. Stir in the flour and gradually blend in the stock. Bring to the boil, stirring all the time.

Add the horseradish sauce and season with salt and pepper. Return the chicken to the casserole, cover and simmer for 30-40 minutes or until tender.

Transfer to a serving dish and sprinkle with the chopped parsley.

I am always on the lookout for horseradish dishes mainly because whenever I have to use horseradish I have to buy a whole bottle of it and then I don’t use it for a long while. It then expires. Although I have wised up to it and so whenever I am at a pub, I will just grab a few packets of horseradish sauce (just 1 or 2, I am not that much of a cheapo) if I am getting a meal there (I do believe in basic fairness).

Anyway, on to this dish itself, I like how the horseradish sauce creates a very unique sauce for the chicken, savoury and with a bit of a kick. Exactly how I like my chicken cooked.

Leave a Reply

