Pork loin with apples and cider

Posted: November 25, 2011 by nietize in British, Pork
Tags: , ,

A variation of this recipe. Instead of using cider, I used 1/3 cup of milk and 1 tsp of wholegrain mustard


Serves 2
Ingredients
2 pork loin steaks
3 jazz apples, cut into slices
2 small onions, cut into rings
1/2 cup apple cider
2 handfuls of cheddar cheese
1 tbsp fresh sage, chopped

Pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees

Season the pork with salt and pepper. Brown the pork on both sides. Remove pork to a baking tray. Add the cheddar cheese around the pork.

In a frying pan, fry the onions, sage and apples for 5-10 minutes until lightly browned. Add the cider and simmer for 2 minutes. Pour the apple mixture over the pork.

Bake in the oven for 15 minutes, or until the pork is cooked. Serve, garnished with sage leaves

I have been experimenting with pork and apples for some time. This is the first time I actually think the dish’s a success! I got this recipe while rummaging the cookbooks at Books for Cooks near Portobello market. I think the book in question was called Recipes with Cider and Beer. Memorised it, modified it a bit by adding the sage and I think I have found my go-to recipe for pork and apples.

Taste wise, I know it’s strange but it’s kind of like eating pork with a sweet “onion soup” kind of sauce. I think it’s the combination of the sweetness in the apples and the onions (different kinds of sweetness) and the savouryness of the cheese that makes this dish come together. Am quite pleased with this dish.

Leave a Reply

