Sausage and Rice

Posted: March 19, 2012 by lainey in My own creation, Rice

It’s been a long time since I posted anything.  Well, I had a baby. Then my mom came and stayed with us so I basically didn’t have to cook. Then now it’s just the husband, the son and I. And I have to cook again. And I am enjoying the process tremendously even though the key to getting the family fed these days is quick and nutritious cooking. I had a brainwave to make sausage and rice after I started yearning for some rice and something hearty. This recipe is made up of in my head based on my knowledge of Paella and the latin Chicken and Rice method.

halfway cooked.

The husband loved it.


Ingredients:

1 onion – chopped
2 cloves of garlic – minced
1 green pepper – chopped
1 carrot – chopped
some celery – chopped
3/4 lbs of hot italian sausage (you can use any other type of sausage meat)
1/2 can of diced tomatoes (I had 1/3 jar of marinara sauce left and used that instead)
2 cups of brown rice (I mixed medium grain brown rice with basmati brown rice just because)
4 cups of chicken stock (I actually just used water because I ran out of chicken stock)
1 Bay leaf and italian seasoning (or whatever you have in your pantry)

Method:
Brown the sausage (remove the links) in olive oil. Drain and set aside.
Cook the garlic and onions in the drippings until onions are translucent.
Add in the rice and toast for a few minutes.
Add in the rest of the vegetables and let them cook for a few minutes.
Add in chicken stock, bay leaf, italian seasoning and stir well.
Add in diced tomatoes (or in my case, the marinara sauce)
Add salt and pepper.
Bring to a boil and cover and simmer until all the water is evaporated. This process takes about an hour. I super cheated and kept lifting the cover and the rice turned out fine, but I’m sure it would be FABULOUS had I not lifted the cover.

Serve with a side of salad.

Comments
  1. […] blog has pretty much become his personal blog, so I decided to post something over there. So this is a start, a glimpse of what we’ve been eating. Hopefully, soon, I can carve out some time […]

Leave a Reply

