Chickpea, Kale and Rice Soup

Posted: April 26, 2012 by lainey in Chicken, My own creation, Soup

Lovely for a cold spring day.

Ingredients

  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 carrots, sliced or diced
  • 4 stalks of celery, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • a dash of paprika
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 3 cups cooked chickpeas (or 2 cans, drained and rinsed)
  • 4 pieces of chicken drumsticks (or whatever chicken parts you prefer to use)
  • 4 cups of water and 4 cups of chicken stock.
  • 1 large bunch kale, thick center ribs removed and chopped (at least 8 cups)
  • 1/2 cup of brown rice or grain of choice.
  • salt and pepper
Heat some olive oil in a dutch oven. Brown the chicken pieces and remove to a plate.
Add onion and cook until onion becomes soft. Add all other vegetables and garlic and cook for 3 minutes.
Add spices and cook for a minute.
Add water and chicken stock. Make sure you deglaze the Dutch oven to get all the goodness stuck at the bottom into the soup. Add the chicken, chickpeas and rice.
Simmer for about 30 minutes or until chickpeas are soft and chicken pieces are cooked.
Remove chicken pieces from the pot. Shred the meat on the chicken pieces and set aside.
Add kale and simmer for another 10 minutes or until kale is soft. Return shredded chicken into the soup. Add salt and pepper.
Serve with crusty bread.

I love kale, and I love chickpeas. And being Cantonese, I love soups, all kinds of soup. I came up with this recipe after reading so many recipes online and not liking anything I’ve read. I decided to invent my own soup with whatever I have in my kitchen and it was perfect for a rainy Spring afternoon. Even the soup-hating husband loved it as a meal. And by the way, don’t trust my measurements, when I cook, I usually measure by instinct, not with cups and spoons unless I’m following a recipe.
Leave a Reply

