Macaroni cheese with pancetta

Posted: June 8, 2012 by nietize in Italian, Pasta, Pork

I went to a Blink 182 concert at the 02 arena, and for dinner I had baked chicken pasta with spinach and bacon at Zizzi. For some strange reason, my pasta was sweet, and that annoyed me and made me want to make and eat proper cheesy pasta. So with that in mind, I went back to this mac and cheese recipe. Variation this time is that to add a layer of cheddar cheese on top and to bake it in the oven at 200 degrees until it’s nice and crispy, and then to serve it on a bed of spinach. Yums. My mac and cheese definitely beats the pasta at Zizzi I had yesterday.

P7190004

Taken from Bowl Food

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups macaroni
75g pancetta (or bacon)
2 cups cream
1 cup grated Cheddar
2 cups grated Gruyere
1 cup grated parmesan
1 clove garlic, crushed
2 tsp Dijon mustard
1/2 tsp paprika
2 tbsp snipped fresh chives

Bring a large saucepan of lightly salted water to the boil. Add the macaroni and cook until al dente. Drain, cover and keep warm.

Meanwhile, place the pancetta in a large saucepan and cook over high heat, stirring for 4 minutes, or until well browned and slightly crisp. Drain on paper towels. Reduce the heat to medium, stir in the cream and simmer. Add the cheeses, garlic, mustard and paprika, and stir for 5 minutes, or until the cheeses have melted and the sauce has thickened. Season.

Add the macaroni and pancetta and stir for 1 minute, or until heated through. Stir in the chives, garnish with the extra chives and serve.

Lainey sniffed when I told her I was going to cook Mac and Cheese until I gave her more details of the recipe. She then proclaimed that it’s Gourmet Mac and Cheese. Why, I am not too sure because I have never tried the American version of Mac and Cheese that she spoke of. I should try it one day when I go to the US

Feel free to adjust the portions of the cheese. To be honest, I didn’t bother with gruyere I just used lots of cheddar and parmesan and it turned out just fine.

Leave a Reply

