Apple cake

Posted: April 10, 2010 by nietize in Dessert, Italian
Tags: ,

From the Silver Spoon
Serves 6

Ingredients

80g unsalted butter, softened
300g self raising flour plus extra for dusting
3 eggs
150g caster sugar
3 apples, peeled, cored and chopped

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees. Grease a cake tin or mould with butter and dust lightly with flour. Whisk together the eggs and sugar until pale and fluffy, then beat in the butter until thoroughly combined. Sift the flour into the mixture then add the apples and mix gently. Pour the mixture into the prepared tin or mould and bake for 30-40 minutes.

Remove from the oven and leave to cool, then turn out, or serve immediately while hot. Serve with whipped cream, if you like.

40 minutes in my oven wasn’t enough and so I had to pop it back into the oven. I did it for 10 more minutes and i thought the cake was a bit dry on the sides, but fine in the middle because thats where most of the apples are. I may go for 45 minutes the next time. Of course another reason why it may be too dry is that i reduced the amount of butter to 50g (on my mom’s request). Taste absolutely perfect, the apples moist and sweet. I think I am starting to get the hang of making loaf tin cakes.

Leave a comment